Site Search  

2018 School Trustee Election Endorsements

On October 20 vote for trustee candidates endorsed by local teachers and labour councils

In several communities across BC, local teachers’ associations are encouraging teachers to vote for specific school trustee candidates. These lists are made by locals according to their own democratic structures. In other communities, labour councils have identified candidates teachers should consider supporting. 

Our students need trustees who will be advocates for public education, promote safe and inclusive schools, and work with teachers in a collaborative manner. Please check to see if the community you live in has a list of endorsed candidates. And then, vote! 

Take a screen grab, jot the names down, or print out the relevant page from the PDF and take the list to the polling station with you. 

Remember, advance voting has begun in most communities. If you’re planning to travel to a professional development conference on October 19, please vote before you go. 

Click a school district name to expand/collapse list.

School District #5 – Southeast Kootenay (Labour Council endorsement) 

Trina Ayling
Chris Johns
Doug McPhee
Wendy Turner
Patricia Whalen

School District #23 – Central Okanagan (Labour Council endorsement)

Norah Bowman
Peter Pagliocchini

School District #33 – Chilliwack (Chilliwack Teachers’ Association endorsement) 

Dan Coulter
Kelly Janveaux
Peter Lang
Jared Mumford
Michael Prill
Willow Reichelt
David Swankey

School District #34 – Abbotsford (Labour Council endorsement)

Balbir Gill
Raj Patara
Preet Rai

*The Abbotsford District Teachers’ Association has endorsed Heidi Smit-Vinois.

School District #35 – Langley (Langley Teachers’ Association endorsement) 

Langley City Endorsed Candidates:
1. Shelley Coburn
2. Marshall Austin
Langley Township Endorsed Candidates
1. Megan Dykeman
2. Suzanne Perreault
3. David Tod
4. Marnie Wilson

School District #36 – Surrey (Surrey Teachers’ Association endorsement) 

Sonia Andhi
Cindy Daglish
Charlene Dobie
Laurae McNally (White Rock)
Niovi Patsicakis
Mary-Em Waddington

School District #37 – Delta (Delta Teachers’ Association endorsement) 

Rhiannon Bennett
Andrea Hilder
Mita Naidu
Nick Kanakos
Val Windsor
Randy Anderson-Fennell
Victor Espinoza

School District #38 – Richmond (Richmond Teachers’ Association endorsement)

Ken Hamaguchi
Sandra Nixon
Donna Sargent
Andrew Scallion
Debbie Tablotney
Grace Tsang
Eric Yung 

School District #39 – Vancouver (Vancouver Secondary and Elementary Teachers’ Associations endorsements)  

Erin Arnold 
Carrie Bercic
Janet Fraser 
Estrellita Gonzalez
Erica Jaaf
Aaron Leung
Barb Parrot
Jennifer Reddy
Allan Wong

School District #40 – New Westminster (Labour Council endorsement) 

Anita Ansari
Dee Beattie
Gurveen Dhaliwal
Mark Gifford
Maya Russell

School District #41 – Burnaby (Burnaby Teachers’ Association endorsement) 

Suresh Bhayana 
Bill Brassington 
Peter Cech 
Larry Hayes 
Jen Mezei 
Ryan Stewart 
Gary Wong 

School District #42 – Maple Ridge-Pitt Meadows (Labour Council endorsement)

Korleen Carreras (Pitt Meadows)
Elaine Yamamoto (Maple Ridge)

School District #43 – Coquitlam (Labour Council endorsement) 

Jennifer Blatherwick (Coquitlam)
Shari O’Neill (Coquitlam)
Craig Woods (Coquitlam)
Christine Pollock (Port Coquitlam)
Bruce Richardson (Port Coquitlam)
Lisa Park (Port Moody)
Keith Watkins (Port Moody)

School District #44 – North Vancouver (North Vancouver Teachers’ Association endorsement)

Behl Evangilista (District of North Vancouver)
Norman Farrell (District of North Vancouver)
Kulvir Mann (District of North Vancouver)
George Tsiakos (District of North Vancouver)
Megan Higgins (City of North Vancouver) 
Jullian Kolstee (City of North Vancouver) 

School District #45 – West Vancouver (West Vancouver Teachers’ Association endorsement)

Lynne Block
Carolyn Broady
Nicole Brown
Sheelah Donahue
Pieter Dorsman

School District #46 – Sunshine Coast (Labour Council endorsement)

Sue Girard
Charlene Penner

School District #52 – Prince Rupert (Labour Council endorsement) 

Kristy Maier

School District #57 – Prince George (Labour Council endorsement) 

Trent Derrick
Stephanie Mikalishen – Deol
Corey Walker

School District #61 – Victoria (Labour Council endorsement)

Vincent Gornall
Diane McNally
Ryan Painter
Rob Paynter
Jordan Watters

School District #62 – Sooke (Labour Council endorsement) 

Ravi Parmar

*The Sooke Teachers’ Association will be meeting October 10, 2018 to discuss further endorsements. Check back here or sooketeachers.org for more information later this week. 

School District #68 – Nanaimo-Ladysmith (Labour Council endorsement) 

Lisa Marie Barron
Tania Brzovic
Greg Keller
Chantel O’Neill
Jessica Stanley

School District #72 – Campbell River (Labour Council endorsement)

Richard Franklin
John Kerr
Joyce McMann

School District #73 – Kamloops–Thompson (Labour Council endorsement) 

Beat Klossner
Kerri Schill

  • FacebookTwitterYouTube
  • TeachBC
  • BCTF Online Museum
  • BCTF Advantage